Why Handwriting Matters

One of my personal goals for 2012 is to be involved in more creative activities, and one of the new activities I’m getting interested in is calligraphy. Calligraphy is the art of decorative handwriting and lettering, and as I began to get interested in learning it I discovered a book, Learn Calligraphy, by Margaret Shepherd, which led me to her blog. As I began reading I discovered this post about whether or not handwriting should be taught in modern schools today, and it is well worth reading.

Margaret makes one point I find to be especially valid: while we all may use keyboards and mice today to use a computer, that does not mean we will in three to five years. I dare say we may be able to abandon our keyboards even sooner, now that Apple has a product called Siri. If Apple doesn’t move this product from iPhone and iPad to the Macintosh platform, they will be missing quite an opportunity.

Will handwriting and printing ever go away? Are there skills and knowledge that can be learned through handwriting? These are good things to think about. Personally, I plan to work on handwriting and calligraphy skills during the next year, partly as a creative process, and partly as a remedial effort to improve my handwriting. There really is no acceptable excuse for bad handwriting, and making the written word beautiful can make it more appealing and acceptable. Let the creativity begin!

About johnmcgeeblog

Husband, father, IT manager, traveler, guitarist, hackintosher, writer...? Blogging can be a coping mechanism, a mentoring tool... what is it to you?
This entry was posted in calligraphy, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

