OSX 10.7 Lion is here…but not on my Dell Mini!

If you haven’t heard, Lion was released this AM via the App Store. I will likely pony up and pay for it for my desktop after I can research how it went for users on TonyMacX86.com and InsanelyMac.com, as I am all about letting someone else figure out what the bleeding edge is all about! Hey, I work in healthcare IT; none of us want to be first on anything.

In the meantime, I finally got around to reloading my Dell Mini 10v back to OSX 10.6.7. The MyDellMini.com website proved to be invaluable, and in retrospect if I had taken just a few precautions (like making a backup! Geez) I could likely have rolled back from my ill-fated 10.6.8 attempt in less than an hour. Is it possible to get your Atom-based netbooks hackintoshed up to 10.6.8? Yes, though “your results may vary”. Here on Prasys’ blog is a pretty good guide to help you along the way. First, though, you should probably ask yourself if you really need to upgrade to 10.6.8 to begin with. Most of the upgrade is for the rest of the free world: it enables the 10.7 Lion upgrade to be laid down over Snow Leopard. However, it also adds a security patch or two, and Apple in their infinite wisdom wouldn’t split up those parts from the rest of the 10.6.8 update. Personally, I will skip that one and just leave the Dell Mini at 10.6.7 until it dies, as Lion is not currently compatible with the Atom series of CPUs.

For those of you who have not tried to “hackintosh” your rig, you may be really missing out. It’s fun to do, and pretty cool when you sit down at your homebrew PC and watch those forbidden fruits start to pop up on the screen! On the other hand, when it’s time to do an OS update I find myself cringing and looking for an excuse to put it off. And this time, at least, the Dell Mini update should have been put off.

About johnmcgeeblog

Husband, father, IT manager, traveler, guitarist, hackintosher, writer...? Blogging can be a coping mechanism, a mentoring tool... what is it to you?
This entry was posted in hackintosh, Lion, Mac, OS X and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OSX 10.7 Lion is here…but not on my Dell Mini!

  1. m1k3yb0y says:

    Just stumbled upon your blog, John and got a real kick out of it! I am in HIT as well, and see you’re a kindred spirit! Keep ’em coming!

    • Thanks, Michael! I’ve stepped away from the blog for awhile, but I’ve missed the Post A Day mentality I had before and the daily writing exercise. I’ll be posting more soon!

      John

  2. Grazyna says:

    I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website. Studying this information So i’m happy to show that I have a very just right uncanny feeling I
    came upon just what I needed. I so much surely will make
    certain to do not overlook this website and provides
    it a look regularly.

Leave a Reply

