Guilty Pleasures and a Complete Waste of Time

It was a long weekend, since it was of the three-day variety. The family came through yesterday (Monday) for the requisite grilling; yep, lots of pork products were had by all. The boys indulged in an all-day NCIS marathon, so while they were wasting time (yes, I watch it, too!) I fired up the Hackintosh and… played Plants vs. Zombies. Yes, I play video games. My favs for now: Crysis & Crysis Warhead (love to shoot stuff), Halo and Halo 2, Half Life 2 and all it’s episodes, and Left 4 Dead (love me some zombie shootin’!) Yes, it is a complete waste of time. No, it is not creative in the least. No, I don’t care what you think!

On the other hand, now that the weekend is over, it’s time to recommit to the day job and get things done. I’m told things at work, already pretty busy, are about to go into overdrive. My duties on the Arkansas HIMSS board are coming to the forefront this week with a board call, a board meeting, and an all day seminar to help organize on Friday. On Saturday and Sunday we are hosting a new youth minister who is coming in to interview and see our church, so tonight I had to get some things done around the house. My father gave me some cantaloupe plants that “volunteered” in his compost pile, so those had to be put out immediately upon receipt or they would die. Of course, that is also a bit annoying, as these plants came from Dad’s compost heap… my father grows better plants in his garbage than I can in my garden! The twin’s are still in school this week, so we have all of that going on, too.

So tonight’s post is shortened, even though I have a lot on my mind between work and career, home, church, and life in general. Perhaps once I make it through the next couple of weeks life will slow a bit, but in the meantime, it’s pedal to the metal. The good news is that even though I’m not getting a post done every day, I’m still meeting my goal of at least four a week. i plan to continue!

About johnmcgeeblog

Husband, father, IT manager, traveler, guitarist, hackintosher, writer...? Blogging can be a coping mechanism, a mentoring tool... what is it to you?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

