My Nephew’s Graduation

Subtitled: I’m old because my nephew is graduating! Yes, tonight is the night: my nephew Zach is graduating. Normally I hold family names fairly close to the vest, allowing my family some level of anonymity. However, this is a special night for Zach, so I am telling the world (or at least the five or six of you who read me daily!) how proud I am of my nephew. He walks the stage tonight, moving the tassel to the other side of the cap, and symbolically moving forward into adulthood as well. He has made plans for college and likely pharmacy school afterwards; who knows where this young man will land.

This makes me feel old because he is the first nephew on my wife’s side of the family. Since he was the first there are so many more memories of him than the other nephews and nieces. The first, of course, is hearing the news from my brother- and sister-in-law: “We’re pregnant!”. I remember going to see them at the hospital, waiting for him to be born. I remember seeing him as a newborn, and changing diapers (ok, not the best memory, I know!). I remember him as a toddler, rolling a ball around on the floor. Seeing him learning to roll over, to crawl, to walk, and learning to talk. So many memories…and one more gets added tonight.

Congratulations, Zach: we are all very, very proud of you!

About johnmcgeeblog

Husband, father, IT manager, traveler, guitarist, hackintosher, writer...? Blogging can be a coping mechanism, a mentoring tool... what is it to you?
This entry was posted in family, graduation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

