Rainy Saturdays are the Best

I’m inside looking out a window at my yard. While I usually enjoy mowing, today it’s just too wet. We had a good hard rain last night, so the yard is still damp…or at least that’s what I am telling myself! The dampness outside allows me a chance to sit inside with one of the twins watching baseball. The Cardinals are playing, and it looks like they will win this one. In between innings I’m visiting with my boy and surfing the net, learning about fountain pens, of all things. I’ve been playing with my new pen (geez, get a life, John!), and checking out eBay, and I’m betting I’ll try to find a nice Levenger in the next day or two on an auction.

I was supposed to be fishing Monday, but my fishin’ buddy had something come out so we will put off our trip for a few days. That is probably for the best, as there has been so much rain it will be impossible to get on the river for a few weeks. The dam on the Little Red River is used to generate electricity as needed, and to control the level of the water coming down, and the water is higher than I have ever seen it before, hence the constant generation. I’ll try to finish loading those fly reels for my boys since I’m off Monday anyway, and we can start practicing our casts in the yard.

Tonight we’ll pick up my brother and eat somewhere in Little Rock, then visit at his house while the boys play with his “toys”. My brother is a garage sale junkie, and is very good at it! He tells me he picked up a vintage Atari 2600 game system this morning with over 30 cartridges; my boys (andI!) will be in heaven! Have a great weekend!

About johnmcgeeblog

Husband, father, IT manager, traveler, guitarist, hackintosher, writer...? Blogging can be a coping mechanism, a mentoring tool... what is it to you?
This entry was posted in weekend and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

