Is it spring or not?

One of the ongoing jokes about Arkansas is the weather. “If you don’t like the weather just wait a couple of hours; it’ll change” or something like that. This weekend has been an odd one. Usually by this time of year we have day temps pushing up to the low 90’s (Fahrenheit), but this May in Arkansas has been colder than usual. Our night time lows have been down in the 40’s, and daytime highs in the low 60’s. Honestly, it feels more like November than May right now, and it looks like the weather should hold this way for a couple more days. The garden is slow starting because the ground just hasn’t warmed up enough to promote any growth, and I’m wondering at this point if I will have any tomatoes by July 4th.

On the other hand, I am enjoying the weather. The cooler temps slow down the yard’s green grass, too, and even though I enjoy mowing the yard I know I’ll have an entire summer to learn to dislike it, or at least resent it a little. In the meantime mowing every other week is still an option. Our day lilies have started blooming, so we have a splash of color around the front of the house, and Wife and I are thinking about adding some other colors of lilies in so there is more than just the yellow flower blooms. I have been outside working on my vegetable beds, and will likely add two or three more raised beds this year to expand the range of the garden. My twins are still in the “we hate all green veggies” stage of eating, so anything I grow outside is just for me and my wife. At least I don’t have to worry about what they will or won’t eat: they just won’t eat vegetables, period!

I had committed myself to working on the twins’ fly rods this weekend, trying to get some backing line and fly line loaded on them so we could start practicing. I got halfway there, completing the loading of the backer line on both of their reels. Of course, then I couldn’t find the fly line, having stashed it somewhere in the house to “clean up and put away”.

I am continuing to work on creative writing, and am trying to come up with some new topics to write about. One I have been sitting on for awhile is a tribute to my Aunt Retha, who died a few years ago. I owe a lot to her, and will write about that soon. Another topic is “organizing a life” and how cleaning a drawer or office can be an outward display of the cleaning that is really going on inside us. I have also really been into listening to Garrison Keillor lately, the genial host of A Prairie Home Companion on NPR. I think that would really surprise some of my friends because I am fairly conservative (though at times an independent) in my politics, but I find Garrison Keillor to write honestly and humorously about life up north, and having relatives from Nebraska and South Dakota helps me see similarities. Finally, writing about Southern life and churches is always interesting to me, and I think I may have another topic or two up my sleeve as related to life here down below the Mason Dixon line.

In the meantime, the weather is cool, but pleasant. Maybe this evening will allow a few minutes on the deck before sundown with my favorite notebook and a cool drink. We shall see.

About johnmcgeeblog

Husband, father, IT manager, traveler, guitarist, hackintosher, writer...? Blogging can be a coping mechanism, a mentoring tool... what is it to you?
This entry was posted in weather, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

